Follow Us

Stay in touch with us on social media!

  • Facebook

  • Twitter

  • Google+

  • LinkedIn

  • YouTube

  • Pinterest

  • Instagram

Free 1-on-1 Consultation

Thank you for your interest in HeartMath training programs and services.

Schedule Online


Call Us

Christiana Bishop

(800) 711-6221


E-mail Us

Free Consultation

HeartMath® Interventions Clinician Certification

For Counselors, Psychologists and Other Health Care Professionals

Establishing a New Baseline for Sustained Behavioral Change

The HeartMath Interventions Program is designed especially for licensed counselors, psychologists, social workers, educational therapists, doctors and other health-care professionals who want to add HeartMath self-regulation tools and technologies into their therapeutic work with youth and adults.

The self-regulation techniques, protocols and technologies taught in the program guide individuals in establishing a new physiological baseline that results in sustainable perceptual, attitudinal and behavioral changes. Included are specific treatment protocols for integrating HeartMath interventions into your professional practice.

The training, which is presented in English, is available to practitioners worldwide. It combines home study, interactive online live Webinars, video presentations, ongoing technical and clinical support and certification for those who want to be recognized as Certified HeartMath Practitioners.

Combining the Science of HRV with 16 Years of Best Practices

For Counselors, Psychologists and Other Health Care Professionals

The HeartMath Inteventions Program is based on 16 years of best practices and results seen by practitioners who have used HeartMath technologies with thousands of students and adults.

The in-depth training and education on the science of heart rate variability (HRV) and its relationship to stress, health and emotional self-regulation ensures practitioners achieve quick and sustainable results.

“In the 40 years I have worked in this field, I have found HeartMath interventions to be the most effective methods for transforming stress and emotional turmoil into well-being.”

Tom McDermott, N.C.C., L.M.H.C., director of counseling services, Niagara University, Lewiston, N.Y.

Please send more information on the HeartMath Interventions Program

The HeartMath Interventions Program (HMIP) Includes:

  • 7+ hours of instruction by HMI faculty
    • 5 one-hour live, interactive webinars.
    • 2 ninety minute video presentations.
  • An in-depth HeartMath Interventions Manual
    • Detailed information on the scientific underpinnings of the HeartMath System including the therapeutic implications of Heart Rate Variability measurement and assessment.
    • Specific treatment protocols for integrating HeartMath interventions into your professional practice. Protocols include: 1) multi-visit interventions; 2) one or two visit interventions for various brief counseling and medical treatment situations; 3) acute interventions in emergency room and other similar situations; 4) group therapy interventions; and 5) interventions for young children.
  • Step-by-step instructions in how to teach your individual clients or patients HeartMath’s core tools and how to use the emWave® technology in your professional practice. Regular, on-going clinical group therapy is included within the concept of individual instruction.
  • Client and patient handouts and other instructional aids.
  • Assessment protocols for Heart Rate Variability (HRV) and psychophysiological status.
  • On-line access to HeartMath faculty for clinical and technical support and updates.
  • Certification upon completion of a case study with easy to renew terms and conditions.*
  • Access to recorded Class webinars.
  • Membership in our HMI community Forum and document Library.
  • Eligibility to audit future live classes as a review.

* If you are interested in obtaining CEUs for this program, please call Christiana Bishop at (831) 338-8706 for more information.

In addition, you also receive:

  • In-depth Manual
  • HeartMath’s Transforming Series of Books

*Note: emWave® Pro required to take this program.

Course Fees

  • $1,095 in U.S. and Canada; $1,195 for other countries.
  • Partial scholarships may be available to practitioners who work in community organizations, educational institutions and other qualifying organizations.

* Shipping charges for course materials are not included in the cost.

Program Content

Each live webinar is 60 minutes with an optional 30 minutes for extended Q&A. Video presentations are approximately 90 minutes.

  • Live Orientation Webinar: Introductions, Course Overview, Procedures and Assignments
  • Video Presentation: The Science behind the HeartMath System
  • Live Class 1 Webinar: HMI Coherence-building Skill Set
  • Video Presentation: HRV Interpretation and Protocols
  • Live Class 2 Webinar: emWave Applications in the Clinical Setting
  • Live Class 3 Webinar: Clinical Interventions and Protocols
  • Live Class 4 Webinar: Final Assessment: Clinical Case Study Criteria

We also recommend that participants new to the emWave technology attend one of the free regularly scheduled emWave Pro Orientation Webinars prior to Class 2.

HeartMath Interventions Program Schedule

  • Each series is held on five consecutive Fridays at 9:30 a.m. Pacific Time (PT) (GMT/UT minus 8 hours) or Pacific Daylight Time (PDT) (GMT/UT minus 7 hours), unless otherwise noted.
  • Registration for each series closes two weeks before the orientation session.
  • All times are PDT.
2017 Series Dates @ 9:30 a.m.
Month Day Orientation (1 hr)
9:30 a.m.
Class 1 (1+ hr)
9:30 a.m.
Class 2 (1+ hr)
9:30 a.m.
Class 3 (1+ hr)
9:30 a.m.
Class 4 (1+ hr)
9:30 a.m.
Class 5 (1+ hr)
9:30 a.m.
Apr/May Class Full Friday 04/07/17 04/14/17 04/21/17 04/28/17 05/05/17 05/12/17
May/Jun Friday 05/19/17 06/02/17 06/09/17 06/16/17 06/23/17 06/30/17
Aug/Oct Friday 08/25/17 09/08/17 09/15/17 09/22/17 09/29/17 10/06/17
Oct/Nov Friday 10/13/17 10/20/17 10/27/17 11/03/17 11/10/17 11/17/17
2017 Series Dates @ 12:00 p.m.
Month Day Orientation (1 hr)
12:00 p.m.
Class 1 (1+ hr)
12:00 p.m.
Class 2 (1+ hr)
12:00 p.m.
Class 3 (1+ hr)
12:00 p.m.
Class 4 (1+ hr)
12:00 p.m.
Class 5 (1+ hr)
12:00 p.m.
May/Jun Class Full Wednesday 05/03/17 05/10/17 05/17/17 05/24/17 05/31/17 06/07/17
Sept/Oct Wednesday 09/06/17 09/13/17 09/20/17 09/27/17 10/04/17 10/11/17
Nov/Dec Wednesday 11/01/17 11/08/17 11/15/17 11/29/17 12/06/17 12/13/17

Registration for each series closes 2 weeks prior to start of the course.

2017 @ 9:30 a.m.

  • April-May, 2017

    Registration Closed Due to Full Class

    Friday Classes

    Orientation @ 9:30 a.m. – 04/07/17

    Class 1 @ 9:30 a.m. – 04/14/17

    Class 2 @ 9:30 a.m. – 04/21/17

    Class 3 @ 9:30 a.m. – 04/28/17

    Class 4 @ 9:30 a.m. – 05/05/17

    Class 5 @ 9:30 a.m. – 05/12/17

  • May-June, 2017

    Friday Classes

    Orientation @ 9:30 a.m. – 05/19/17

    Class 1 @ 9:30 a.m. – 06/02/17

    Class 2 @ 9:30 a.m. – 06/09/17

    Class 3 @ 9:30 a.m. – 06/16/17

    Class 4 @ 9:30 a.m. – 06/23/17

    Class 5 @ 9:30 a.m. – 06/30/17

  • August-October, 2017

    Friday Classes

    Orientation @ 9:30 a.m. – 08/25/17

    Class 1 @ 9:30 a.m. – 09/08/17

    Class 2 @ 9:30 a.m. – 09/15/17

    Class 3 @ 9:30 a.m. – 09/22/17

    Class 4 @ 9:30 a.m. – 09/29/17

    Class 5 @ 9:30 a.m. – 10/06/17

  • October-November, 2017

    Friday Classes

    Orientation @ 9:30 a.m. – 10/13/17

    Class 1 @ 9:30 a.m. – 10/20/17

    Class 2 @ 9:30 a.m. – 10/27/17

    Class 3 @ 9:30 a.m. – 11/03/17

    Class 4 @ 9:30 a.m. – 11/10/17

    Class 5 @ 9:30 a.m. – 11/17/17

2017 @ 12:00 p.m.

  • May-June, 2017

    Registration Closed Due to Full Class

    Wednesday Classes

    Orientation @ 12:00 p.m. – 05/03/17

    Class 1 @ 12:00 p.m. – 05/10/17

    Class 2 @ 12:00 p.m. – 05/17/17

    Class 3 @ 12:00 p.m. – 05/24/17

    Class 4 @ 12:00 p.m. – 05/31/17

    Class 5 @ 12:00 p.m. – 06/07/17

  • September-October, 2017

    Wednesday Classes

    Orientation @ 12:00 p.m. – 09/06/17

    Class 1 @ 12:00 p.m. – 09/13/17

    Class 2 @ 12:00 p.m. – 09/20/17

    Class 3 @ 12:00 p.m. – 09/27/17

    Class 4 @ 12:00 p.m. – 10/04/17

    Class 5 @ 12:00 p.m. – 10/11/17

  • November-December, 2017

    Wednesday Classes

    Orientation @ 12:00 p.m. – 11/01/17

    Class 1 @ 12:00 p.m. – 11/08/17

    Class 2 @ 12:00 p.m. – 11/15/17

    Class 3 @ 12:00 p.m. – 11/29/17

    Class 4 @ 12:00 p.m. – 12/06/17

    Class 5 @ 12:00 p.m. – 12/13/17

Registration for each series closes 2 weeks prior to start of the course.

Registration Process and How to Begin

  1. Review the HeartMath Interventions sample Letter of Agreement and FAQs for more specifics about the program.
  2. Read and agree to the terms stated in the Letter of Agreement.
  3. Fill out and submit the non-binding online Application.
  4. Upon receipt of your application, a HeartMath representative will contact you to arrange a formal interview with someone on our admissions staff. During the interview we will verify the information on your application, answer your questions about the program, explain the terms and conditions of the Letter of Agreement, review the steps toward certification and provide specific information about class procedure.
  5. After your interview you will receive additional information via e-mail about payment, receipt of course materials and additional instructions for attending the live webinars.
  6. Complete home study of the HeartMath Interventions Manual.
  7. Attend class webinars. Audio and video recordings of class webinars are available for review or if you miss a live webinar class.
  8. Watch the two science presentations videos.
  9. Certification Option Requirements: Demonstrate your understanding of the HeartMath Interventions processes as they apply to your professional practice by submitting a detailed Clinical Case Study. Upon approval, you will receive a certificate acknowledging your status as a Certified HeartMath Practitioner. Certification is valid for three years.

* Refer to Letter of Agreement and HeartMath Interventions Program FAQs for additional information.

** Registration fees are dependent upon field of use. Partial scholarships may be available to practitioners who work in community agencies, educational institutions and other qualifying organizations. Please contact your HeartMath representative for specific information.

Contact Information:

Christiana Bishop
Manager, HeartMath Certified Training Programs

Jeff Goelitz
Education Specialist

Guidelines and Restrictions

  • The program is only available to health care professionals. To qualify you must be able to verify one or more of the following:
    • Licensure or certification as a physician, mental health therapist, counselor, social worker, nurse, physical or recreational therapist, emergency response technician or paramedic, chiropractor or other qualifying health care profession.
    • Proof of employment in a qualified professional capacity, such as, social worker, school counselor, special education teacher, group program leader (anger management, substance abuse, etc.), bio-feedback practitioner, occupation therapy assistant, pain management or child life specialist working in a hospital or clinical setting, etc.
    • Working in a professional research capacity where HMI protocols will be used in the context of a study.
    • Student in an academic or professional track (Masters or PH.D. program practicum) in a qualified field or using HMI protocols in a research or dissertation study.
  • Individuals who do not have licensure, certification, employment or relevant research or educational involvement in a clinical, therapeutic, or counseling context do not qualify for this program. For example: Massage therapists, teachers, executive or life coaches, administrators, stress management or corporate trainers, do not qualify for this program and may want to consider HeartMath’s Coach/Mentor Program.
  • The Program does not include a license or permission to teach the HeartMath System to groups or to use HeartMath trade names or copyrighted information in a public forum (e.g. workshops, lectures, seminars, classes, etc.).*
  • The Course and its materials are presented using the English language. Translation of the materials into other languages is not permitted without prior express written permission from HeartMath.

* Refer to Letter of Agreement and FAQs for additional information.

Or, contact:

Christiana Bishop
Manager, HeartMath Certified Training Programs

Jeff Goelitz
Education Specialist

Thank you for your interest in HeartMath training programs and services.

What People are Saying

HeartMath Interventions Clinician Certification is rated 4.6 out of 5 by 69.
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Help your clients change their lives! I found the Interventions course to be quite useful, and learned new ways of analyzing the biofeedback data of the emWave that has helped me work more effectively with my clients. The bottom line is that HeartMath tools are profoundly simple and effective. They have the ability to bring about lasting, meaningful change in people's lives. So if you're a health professional that wants to share these practical tools with your clients and patients (and don't forget to apply them for yourself!!!), becoming a Certified Practitioner through the Interventions program is the way to do that.
Date published: 2016-02-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent & organized! The HeartMath Interventions Program was worth every dime and hour I spent. The material was well organized, easy to follow, & the pace worked well. I have referred back to the material from the program many times. I am much more confident in using the tools with my clients & able to explain it in understandable ways. It was helpful to hear how others are also using the information around the world. I am very glad I took the time to go to the next level of sharing these valuable tools with the world. My own practice has improved as well.
Date published: 2016-02-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from An opportunity to be better If someone is waiting to do something to change his live and to be better life quality, heartmath tools are that he need to grow personally and professionally. After starting to use the knowledge acquired in the HMPI training course I think there are two remarkables aspects that I can highlight. In one hand after start practice with the different tools available I began to experience more control of my life and I have reduced my personal stress because that I have better relationship with my family, friends and, of course, with my clients. On the other hand, using the HeartMath tools in my clinical practice represents to have more effectivity and so increment my professional value.
Date published: 2017-05-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great program for professionals I found the Interventions program to be superb for any licensed clinician wanting to use HeartMath in their professional practice. It gave me the information I needed to confidently offer it as an evidenced-based process. I found the materials to be very helpful in supporting the live interactions. The patient handouts are well done and are a great addition to the program I offer my patients. Additionally, the instructors are knowledgeable and willing to answer questions, even after the course is finished. I have already recommended this program to other colleagues.
Date published: 2016-02-20
Rated 4 out of 5 by from For psychotherapists monitoring heart rate variability opens up a major new dimension in clinical psycho-therapeutic practice which potentially has major client benefits. The HeartMath tools are well constructed and practical with fairly straightforward client adoption. The HeartMath Certified Practitioner course is a comprehensive introduction to the science and practice of using heart rate variability monitoring in a clinical psycho-therapeutic environment with a comprehensive introduction to the evidence base and clinical application in specific physical and psychological environments
Date published: 2016-02-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent I really enjoyed the course and was appreciative of the opportunity it provided to explore the HeartMath software and techniques in a structured way.. It was great to be able to get instant answers to our questions - I learnt alot from the questions that others in the group posed. It also provided me with motivation to find time to read some of the great research articles available from HeartMath. This has firmed up my conviction that doing the exercises is extremely worthwhile. I'm in a better position now to use HRV training for myself and my clients.
Date published: 2017-05-06
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Not worth the money It's been a while since I took the Heartmath interventions, but I felt it was way too much money for what I learned. I had taken the Resilient Educator training there, which was excellent. I had been using Heartmath interventions for several years and wanted the certification. However, after getting the certification, I stopped receiving calls for using Heartmath with clients (I was on a list as a resilient educator, and got several calls and emails). I talked with several people from Heartmath and they said I needed to take the renewal class for educator training to keep getting referrals from the website, and that my name would not be anyplace on Heartmath's website to help people after taking interventions. So, being familiar with using Heartmath with clients (I was no longer in the education business, but in private practice) I learned some information, but not enough to justify the cost, and I lost referrals. So, as I saw it, I did not benefit much from the training, except I got a tax write off. I still Heartmath interventions with almost every client, especially the military, but I would not renew the certification because it does not help me in my practice. No reason to take it again.
Date published: 2016-02-20
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Disappointed We want to implement this in our office. I would have preferred to have one on one training with the device. My emails recently from HeartMath have been more helpful than the actual training program. We are in the process of self teaching. The timing of the webinars were inconvenient and not streamlined. It would be better as a step by step "how to program" instead of volumes of reading material.
Date published: 2016-02-24
  • y_2017, m_5, d_25, h_7
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_1.0.0-hotfix-1
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_69
  • loc_en_US, sid_ED-HMIP, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_heartmath
  • bvseo_sdk, p_sdk, 3.1.0
  • CLOUD, getContent, 20.74ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT