Follow Us

Stay in touch with us on social media!

  • Facebook

  • Twitter

  • Google+

  • LinkedIn

  • YouTube

  • Pinterest

  • Instagram

Free 1-on-1 Consultation

Thank you for your interest in HeartMath training programs and services.

Schedule Online


Call Us

Christiana Bishop

(800) 711-6221


E-mail Us

Free Consultation

HeartMath® Interventions Clinician Certification

For Counselors, Psychologists and Other Health Care Professionals

Establishing a New Baseline for Sustained Behavioral Change

The HeartMath Interventions Program is designed especially for licensed counselors, psychologists, social workers, educational therapists, doctors and other health-care professionals who want to add HeartMath self-regulation tools and technologies into their therapeutic work with youth and adults.

The self-regulation techniques, protocols and technologies taught in the program guide individuals in establishing a new physiological baseline that results in sustainable perceptual, attitudinal and behavioral changes. Included are specific treatment protocols for integrating HeartMath interventions into your professional practice.

The training, which is presented in English, is available to practitioners worldwide. It combines home study, interactive online live Webinars, video presentations, ongoing technical and clinical support and certification for those who want to be recognized as Certified HeartMath Practitioners.

Combining the Science of HRV with 16 Years of Best Practices

For Counselors, Psychologists and Other Health Care Professionals

The HeartMath Inteventions Program is based on 16 years of best practices and results seen by practitioners who have used HeartMath technologies with thousands of students and adults.

The in-depth training and education on the science of heart rate variability (HRV) and its relationship to stress, health and emotional self-regulation ensures practitioners achieve quick and sustainable results.

“In the 40 years I have worked in this field, I have found HeartMath interventions to be the most effective methods for transforming stress and emotional turmoil into well-being.”

Tom McDermott, N.C.C., L.M.H.C., director of counseling services, Niagara University, Lewiston, N.Y.

Please send more information on the HeartMath Interventions Program

The HeartMath Interventions Program (HMIP) Includes:

  • 7+ hours of instruction by HMI faculty
    • 5 one-hour live, interactive webinars.
    • 2 ninety minute video presentations.
  • An in-depth HeartMath Interventions Manual
    • Detailed information on the scientific underpinnings of the HeartMath System including the therapeutic implications of Heart Rate Variability measurement and assessment.
    • Specific treatment protocols for integrating HeartMath interventions into your professional practice. Protocols include: 1) multi-visit interventions; 2) one or two visit interventions for various brief counseling and medical treatment situations; 3) acute interventions in emergency room and other similar situations; 4) group therapy interventions; and 5) interventions for young children.
  • Step-by-step instructions in how to teach your individual clients or patients HeartMath’s core tools and how to use the emWave® technology in your professional practice. Regular, on-going clinical group therapy is included within the concept of individual instruction.
  • Client and patient handouts and other instructional aids.
  • Assessment protocols for Heart Rate Variability (HRV) and psychophysiological status.
  • On-line access to HeartMath faculty for clinical and technical support and updates.
  • Certification upon completion of a case study with easy to renew terms and conditions.*
  • Access to recorded Class webinars.
  • Membership in our HMI community Forum and document Library.
  • Eligibility to audit future live classes as a review.

* If you are interested in obtaining CEUs for this program, please call Christiana Bishop at (831) 338-8706 for more information.

In addition, you also receive:

  • In-depth Manual
  • HeartMath’s Transforming Series of Books

*Note: emWave® Pro required to take this program.

Course Fees

  • $1,095 in U.S. and Canada; $1,195 for other countries.
  • Partial scholarships may be available to practitioners who work in community organizations, educational institutions and other qualifying organizations.

* Shipping charges for course materials are not included in the cost.

Program Content

Each live webinar is 60 minutes with an optional 30 minutes for extended Q&A. Video presentations are approximately 90 minutes.

  • Live Orientation Webinar: Introductions, Course Overview, Procedures and Assignments
  • Video Presentation: The Science behind the HeartMath System
  • Live Class 1 Webinar: HMI Coherence-building Skill Set
  • Video Presentation: HRV Interpretation and Protocols
  • Live Class 2 Webinar: emWave Applications in the Clinical Setting
  • Live Class 3 Webinar: Clinical Interventions and Protocols
  • Live Class 4 Webinar: Final Assessment: Clinical Case Study Criteria

We also recommend that participants new to the emWave technology attend one of the free regularly scheduled emWave Pro Orientation Webinars prior to Class 2.

HeartMath Interventions Program Schedule

  • Each series is held on five consecutive Fridays at 9:30 a.m. Pacific Time (PT) (GMT/UT minus 8 hours) or Pacific Daylight Time (PDT) (GMT/UT minus 7 hours), unless otherwise noted.
  • Registration for each series closes two weeks before the orientation session.
  • All times are PDT.
2017 Series Dates @ 9:30 a.m.
Month Day Orientation (1 hr)
9:30 a.m.
Class 1 (1+ hr)
9:30 a.m.
Class 2 (1+ hr)
9:30 a.m.
Class 3 (1+ hr)
9:30 a.m.
Class 4 (1+ hr)
9:30 a.m.
Class 5 (1+ hr)
9:30 a.m.
Apr/May Class Full Friday 04/07/17 04/14/17 04/21/17 04/28/17 05/05/17 05/12/17
May/Jun Friday 05/19/17 06/02/17 06/09/17 06/16/17 06/23/17 06/30/17
Aug/Oct Friday 08/25/17 09/08/17 09/15/17 09/22/17 09/29/17 10/06/17
Oct/Nov Friday 10/13/17 10/20/17 10/27/17 11/03/17 11/10/17 11/17/17
2017 Series Dates @ 12:00 p.m.
Month Day Orientation (1 hr)
12:00 p.m.
Class 1 (1+ hr)
12:00 p.m.
Class 2 (1+ hr)
12:00 p.m.
Class 3 (1+ hr)
12:00 p.m.
Class 4 (1+ hr)
12:00 p.m.
Class 5 (1+ hr)
12:00 p.m.
May/Jun Class Full Wednesday 05/03/17 05/10/17 05/17/17 05/24/17 05/31/17 06/07/17
Sept/Oct Wednesday 09/06/17 09/13/17 09/20/17 09/27/17 10/04/17 10/11/17
Nov/Dec Wednesday 11/01/17 11/08/17 11/15/17 11/29/17 12/06/17 12/13/17

Registration for each series closes 2 weeks prior to start of the course.

2017 @ 9:30 a.m.

  • April-May, 2017

    Registration Closed Due to Full Class

    Friday Classes

    Orientation @ 9:30 a.m. – 04/07/17

    Class 1 @ 9:30 a.m. – 04/14/17

    Class 2 @ 9:30 a.m. – 04/21/17

    Class 3 @ 9:30 a.m. – 04/28/17

    Class 4 @ 9:30 a.m. – 05/05/17

    Class 5 @ 9:30 a.m. – 05/12/17

  • May-June, 2017

    Friday Classes

    Orientation @ 9:30 a.m. – 05/19/17

    Class 1 @ 9:30 a.m. – 06/02/17

    Class 2 @ 9:30 a.m. – 06/09/17

    Class 3 @ 9:30 a.m. – 06/16/17

    Class 4 @ 9:30 a.m. – 06/23/17

    Class 5 @ 9:30 a.m. – 06/30/17

  • August-October, 2017

    Friday Classes

    Orientation @ 9:30 a.m. – 08/25/17

    Class 1 @ 9:30 a.m. – 09/08/17

    Class 2 @ 9:30 a.m. – 09/15/17

    Class 3 @ 9:30 a.m. – 09/22/17

    Class 4 @ 9:30 a.m. – 09/29/17

    Class 5 @ 9:30 a.m. – 10/06/17

  • October-November, 2017

    Friday Classes

    Orientation @ 9:30 a.m. – 10/13/17

    Class 1 @ 9:30 a.m. – 10/20/17

    Class 2 @ 9:30 a.m. – 10/27/17

    Class 3 @ 9:30 a.m. – 11/03/17

    Class 4 @ 9:30 a.m. – 11/10/17

    Class 5 @ 9:30 a.m. – 11/17/17

2017 @ 12:00 p.m.

  • May-June, 2017

    Registration Closed Due to Full Class

    Wednesday Classes

    Orientation @ 12:00 p.m. – 05/03/17

    Class 1 @ 12:00 p.m. – 05/10/17

    Class 2 @ 12:00 p.m. – 05/17/17

    Class 3 @ 12:00 p.m. – 05/24/17

    Class 4 @ 12:00 p.m. – 05/31/17

    Class 5 @ 12:00 p.m. – 06/07/17

  • September-October, 2017

    Wednesday Classes

    Orientation @ 12:00 p.m. – 09/06/17

    Class 1 @ 12:00 p.m. – 09/13/17

    Class 2 @ 12:00 p.m. – 09/20/17

    Class 3 @ 12:00 p.m. – 09/27/17

    Class 4 @ 12:00 p.m. – 10/04/17

    Class 5 @ 12:00 p.m. – 10/11/17

  • November-December, 2017

    Wednesday Classes

    Orientation @ 12:00 p.m. – 11/01/17

    Class 1 @ 12:00 p.m. – 11/08/17

    Class 2 @ 12:00 p.m. – 11/15/17

    Class 3 @ 12:00 p.m. – 11/29/17

    Class 4 @ 12:00 p.m. – 12/06/17

    Class 5 @ 12:00 p.m. – 12/13/17

Registration for each series closes 2 weeks prior to start of the course.

Registration Process and How to Begin

  1. Review the HeartMath Interventions sample Letter of Agreement and FAQs for more specifics about the program.
  2. Read and agree to the terms stated in the Letter of Agreement.
  3. Fill out and submit the non-binding online Application.
  4. Upon receipt of your application, a HeartMath representative will contact you to arrange a formal interview with someone on our admissions staff. During the interview we will verify the information on your application, answer your questions about the program, explain the terms and conditions of the Letter of Agreement, review the steps toward certification and provide specific information about class procedure.
  5. After your interview you will receive additional information via e-mail about payment, receipt of course materials and additional instructions for attending the live webinars.
  6. Complete home study of the HeartMath Interventions Manual.
  7. Attend class webinars. Audio and video recordings of class webinars are available for review or if you miss a live webinar class.
  8. Watch the two science presentations videos.
  9. Certification Option Requirements: Demonstrate your understanding of the HeartMath Interventions processes as they apply to your professional practice by submitting a detailed Clinical Case Study. Upon approval, you will receive a certificate acknowledging your status as a Certified HeartMath Practitioner. Certification is valid for three years.

* Refer to Letter of Agreement and HeartMath Interventions Program FAQs for additional information.

** Registration fees are dependent upon field of use. Partial scholarships may be available to practitioners who work in community agencies, educational institutions and other qualifying organizations. Please contact your HeartMath representative for specific information.

Contact Information:

Christiana Bishop
Manager, HeartMath Certified Training Programs

Jeff Goelitz
Education Specialist

Guidelines and Restrictions

  • The program is only available to health care professionals. To qualify you must be able to verify one or more of the following:
    • Licensure or certification as a physician, mental health therapist, counselor, social worker, nurse, physical or recreational therapist, emergency response technician or paramedic, chiropractor or other qualifying health care profession.
    • Proof of employment in a qualified professional capacity, such as, social worker, school counselor, special education teacher, group program leader (anger management, substance abuse, etc.), bio-feedback practitioner, occupation therapy assistant, pain management or child life specialist working in a hospital or clinical setting, etc.
    • Working in a professional research capacity where HMI protocols will be used in the context of a study.
    • Student in an academic or professional track (Masters or PH.D. program practicum) in a qualified field or using HMI protocols in a research or dissertation study.
  • Individuals who do not have licensure, certification, employment or relevant research or educational involvement in a clinical, therapeutic, or counseling context do not qualify for this program. For example: Massage therapists, teachers, executive or life coaches, administrators, stress management or corporate trainers, do not qualify for this program and may want to consider HeartMath’s Coach/Mentor Program.
  • The Program does not include a license or permission to teach the HeartMath System to groups or to use HeartMath trade names or copyrighted information in a public forum (e.g. workshops, lectures, seminars, classes, etc.).*
  • The Course and its materials are presented using the English language. Translation of the materials into other languages is not permitted without prior express written permission from HeartMath.

* Refer to Letter of Agreement and FAQs for additional information.

Or, contact:

Christiana Bishop
Manager, HeartMath Certified Training Programs

Jeff Goelitz
Education Specialist

Thank you for your interest in HeartMath training programs and services.

What People are Saying

HeartMath Interventions Clinician Certification is rated 4.6 out of 5 by 76.
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Inspiring Enough information to make me feel confident enough to begin working with people.
Date published: 2017-07-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Revolutionary Life Changing Learning! I am amazed at in-depth information, knowledge and scientific background behind this HMIP course. I am in awe of the huge potential for transforming my life, as well as others, on a mind, body and spirit level. Doing this course will change your life and your world. It just won't be the same ever again. You learn tol see, feel and perceive in a more expansive way about everything and everybody around you with new insights and experiential learning also. In addition, you come to realise that you can help yourself and others to self-regulate in order to raise your coherence level consistently over time. The effects for you are better health, better relationships, higher cognitive function (thinking), a more expansive view of what is really going on and more peace, stillness and ease on the inside. I truly can't say enough about this. It's like I want to stand on a rock and tell everybody around me about this. I am conscious to pace myself and introduce this gradually to those around me so they can understand its full implications. Thank you so much Heartmath for bringing this HMIP course to the world. I admire your dedication and commitment to your students and to humanity as a whole. I know we are all One and whatever changes we make in our lives individually also has an impact on the Whole. I am excited to learn more and am passionate about this. I have found the next step on my journey in life!
Date published: 2017-07-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very Informative I was familiar with HRV before starting the program, but I now have a much more in-depth appreciate for the topic. I feel like I can take what the program taught me and actually apply it to clients' lives to make an impact. This is especially important to me, as I work with a lot of clients who have intense anxiety and heart conditions such as POTS. I now feel like I have a tool that they can use to help regain some semblance of control over their lives.
Date published: 2017-07-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Timely information for our new age Thoughtfully organized, wonderfully presented, heartfully delivered.
Date published: 2017-06-28
Rated 4 out of 5 by from HeartMath Cert program The first few classes were background, foundational information. Then we explored more about interpreting the results and how to educate and present the program to the clients. This is the most interesting and helpful portion of the program for me.
Date published: 2017-06-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent program This program is ideally suited for professionals who want to use HeartMath tools and technologies in their professional practices. It is an ideal mix of education and training.
Date published: 2017-06-24
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Truly worthwhile Did not know what to expect with zero experience but it far exceeded my expectation
Date published: 2017-06-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Expand Your Life and Open Your Heart The HeartMath system is a life changing and easy to use skill set. I highly recommend it to anyone who is looking for practical tools to increase their quality of life.
Date published: 2017-05-11
  • y_2017, m_11, d_16, h_22
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_76
  • loc_en_US, sid_ED-HMIP, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_heartmath
  • bvseo_sdk, p_sdk, 3.1.0
  • CLOUD, getContent, 13.21ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT